Gunning down a wall

Truls

Hi guys!

I am a bit of a beginner in Houdini, but I have quite a lot of general CG knowledge. What I am going to try doing in Houdini is to make a wooden wall consisting of separate planks (simple tall boxes) that first gets shot up by machine gun fire and then gets really wrecked by artillery shell shrapnel. Could be complex. I am posting here in hope that someone would like to give me a little help and perhaps discuss the concepts with me:) Is it really a good idea to do two consecutive fractures? Perhaps the lines from the first fracture will mess up the second and larger fracture operation?

I have started doing a little testing, guided by the new Houdini quickstart tutorial from sidefx. I have run across a problem already. I am able to set up a working fracture sim, but the bullet I am using won't just go through the wall and tear out a little of it, it actually smacks the wall down and bounces back from it. I have tried making it go really really fast, be really really small and be really really heavy, but it just puts more force on the wall. Is it actually possible to simulate a bullet going through a wall and making a hole, or would I have to just smash the wall and then use some other force to get the pieces flying?

Also, I found sub-step controls both on object lever and inside the dop network. They aren't linked... How do these play together?

As you've found, it can be tricky to get objects to fly through a wall with dynamic fracturing. You can do it, but you need to mess with the collision relationships; in your case the bullet should affect the wall but not vice versa. But even if you do that it can be tricky to make sure the wall stays completely still when the bullet passes through.