OceanFx continous wave motion

Doum

hey all,

I use the shelf tool to create a wave tank (houdini 12.5) and I notice that the wave motion velocity is only acting at the first frame.

What can I do if I would like to keep this velocity affecting the flip fluid until a desire frame?

I saw a vel volume under the initial watertank geo and thought it could be use with a field force in dop, but when I try to use a sop vector field, it tell me that it's not a volume? Any better idea, I'm still new to houdini so maybe there is others ways that could be more effective.

Thanks

Doum

You can use the ocean vector field, the only catch is that you should mask it by the surface field when you bring it into the sim... I did that with a volume vop. If you don't do this, your splashes and such above the main body of water will get underlying ocean motion even while they're in the air. You then just need to multiply it down to 0.042 if you're working at 24fps (1/24) and add it to the vel field. I've attached a file that should be right -- I didn't test it much though since it's a bit late here. :)

Quick Edit: updated blast node name, and added volume trail to preview vels from masked volume.

FlipWaveTank_Continuous_h12.5.hipnc

Edited by Solitude
  • Like 1

• 1 month later...

You can, but that's only if you are going to use an ocean plane, and not a fluid simulation. When you set up a flip simulation from the waves, which is what that shelf tool does, it only gives it an initial state to the fluid sim.

• 3 months later...

Hi Ian,

First off thanks for the great solution. Could you explain in a little more detail the use of the two blast nodes and how those group expressions are masking the velocities above the deformed grid?

Edited by Nate