Cloudy/Murky Liquid

I am relatively new at Houdini and I am trying to create a shader for liquid, specifically for Gatorade. I am simply using a basicLiquid material, tweaking the given parameters as values and using PBR, but I am hoping to give it more of a cloudy/murky depth (as if the water has color dye in it) look not necessarily subsurface scattering.

More like the shading in this test:

post-9028-0-27583700-1364980445_thumb.jp

Hi,

One way to do this would be to duplicate the surface and apply a uniform volume to the inner surface. In Houdini 12.5 the shelf tools set it up like this by default. The linear volume renders pretty fast with PBR and should give you the cloudy look you're looking for.

Attached a super quick example made using the shelf tools. Check out the particle_fluidinterior node.

lczd.hipnc

As Julian mentioned, you can prototype this effect with the default Wavetank shelf tool. It sets up the shading network to do all the right steps.

The murkiness is generated by a constant tile volume at render time and this is created as Julian mentioned by the fluidtank_fluidinterior object which is assigned to the uniformvolume shader to render this as a volume.

The fluidtank_fluidinterior object contains a single polysoup primitive and no volumes. So what gives?

The answer is that Mantra can construct constant tile volumes for you at render time and this is exactly what the uniformvolume shader is doing: constructing a constant tile volume for the fluid interior contained by the manifold object in the fluidtank_fluidinterior. All you need to do is add the render property vm_volumedensity and match this value to the density that you set for your volume in the surface part of your shader. This is exactly what the uniformvolume shader is doing internally in the VOP network.

Tweak the values of the uniform volume shader to control how the light penetrates inside the water.

----