What's the deal with keying in Houdini

Darimondé

Howdy Folks,

Total newb here with my first question to the forum. I'm coming from a Shake background and was very excited to see a great node based compositor in Houdini but with all the incredible stuff in COPS I have been a bit dumbstruck to see that there are no proper tools for removing green or blue screens. Of course I gave the Chroma keyer a chance but it is no match for fine hair detail. I am truly amazed by this program and plan to get deep in it but, SideFx seems to have walked a thousand miles just to stop 6 feet before the door with its compositor. Am I missing something? I mean no Keylight, Primatte, Ultimatte, or their own home grown system. No tracker or stabilzers either (as near as I can tell), what gives? You see, my hope was to be able to learn Houdini and be able to put several other tools aside except for something specialized. But, if I've built a completely 3D environment and now want to place my actors in it, I have to go back to Shake. And if something is wrong, I have to keep going back and forth rather than just work it out in Houdini. I'm sure you all have dealt with this on some level already. Sorry about the rant, I'm just really jazzed about this program and want it to do everything. Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Sincerely,

Rick

Hey Rick

Houdini's compositor is really good for what it is, however I don't think it's meant to replace true compositors like Nuke or Shake. Possibly the intention when it was designed was for it to become a standalone tool which could compete with the big boys, however I don't think the interest was ever there from the users.

If enough people use it and ask for rfe's then there's always the possibility that it would be enhanced and improved, but until then I think it would be best to stick with the proper comp tools.

Cheers

Marc

Hi Marc,