Jump to content


Creating simple tornado motion using pointcloud


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 shareu

shareu

    Peon

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location:korean
  • Name:jeonghun seong

Posted 06 June 2011 - 10:46 PM

I used to make tornado motion with pointcloud. I was helped so much from odforce. This time I hope to be helpful to have the opportunity. Hope you likt it. Ian Farnsworth,Igor Igor Zanic~

Attached Files


Edited by shareu, 06 June 2011 - 10:54 PM.


#2 zarti

zarti

    Illusionist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Joined: 21-February 10
  • Location:39th parallel
  • Name:CTRL-C CTRL-V

Posted 07 June 2011 - 12:52 AM

looks awesome !

i like it very much and thanks for sharing , because you are helping me too to understand some things .




.cheers
keep walking .

#3 Stalkerx777

Stalkerx777

    Initiate

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined: 09-June 08
  • Location:Russia, Moscow
  • Name:Alex Sadroutdinov

Posted 07 June 2011 - 02:10 AM

Simple, yet powerfull technique! Thanks for sharing!
Posted Image

#4 Solitude

Solitude

    Illusionist

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Joined: 12-April 06
  • Name:Ian Farnsworth

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:34 AM

You rock dude! Thanks (this is Ian) :)

#5 efx

efx

    Peon

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 09
  • Location:Canada
  • Name:Ryo Mikai

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:09 AM

Simple & Cool is the Best!!

Thank you so much for sharing.

#6 rony

rony

    Peon

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Joined: 22-July 07
  • Location:USA
  • Name:Rony Edde

Posted 07 June 2011 - 11:11 PM

I couldn't help not use this file for testing the volume plug-in I'm working on.
I won't cross threads but just wanted to say it's a good one for benchmarks.
Thanks.

#7 wolf_cub_one

wolf_cub_one

    Initiate

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined: 12-January 07
  • Name:T N

Posted 07 June 2011 - 11:48 PM

Nice.

Thanks for sharing.


cheers

#8 bunker

bunker

    Initiate

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Joined: 17-March 08
  • Location:DD Vancouver
  • Name:Julien Depredurand

Posted 08 June 2011 - 02:16 AM

Very nicely done. Thanks for sharing :)

#9 bunker

bunker

    Initiate

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Joined: 17-March 08
  • Location:DD Vancouver
  • Name:Julien Depredurand

Posted 08 June 2011 - 03:37 AM

Couldn't resist using that for a volume sim. :D
Attached File  tornado_v02.hip   684.67KB   1350 downloads

Edited by bunker, 08 June 2011 - 05:14 AM.

  • md5 likes this

#10 Pazuzu

Pazuzu

    Initiate

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Location:Bogota - Colombia
  • Name:Alejandro Echeverry

Posted 08 June 2011 - 12:36 PM

Thank you very much!!!!

#11 md5

md5

    Peon

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Joined: 21-March 11
  • Location:.
  • Name:. .

Posted 08 June 2011 - 01:31 PM

Very nice setup. Thanks for sharing guys ! :D

Edited by md5, 08 June 2011 - 01:31 PM.


#12 Netvudu

Netvudu

    Houdini Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Joined: 24-May 06
  • Location:Barcelona, Spain
  • Name:Javier Meroño

Posted 08 June 2011 - 03:18 PM

So interesting...both setups!
Bunker, I was checking your scene and the visualization coming from the DOP network is really cool even in OpenGL!! :huh: So I tried to cache this somehow, but when I used an DOP I/O I realized I needed to multiply the density 10 times (I used a Volume Mix for this, not sure if there´s a faster way...this one works) to match your visualization parameters in the smoke dobject.

My question being....in order to render a scene like this, would you just cache that and throw in a volume shader? I´m bettin it can´t be that difficult to get it looking nice, considering how good it looks in Open GL already! :)


EDIT: Yup. I just did it...well, with one small frame because my computer is too old to render volumes, but it does work....

EDIT2: ummm...bunker, why is it that as the point cloud lifts higher your volume clouds looses density? did you check it? it doesn´t look right to me. The original point cloud does loose a bit of point density, but not as much. Looks to me like there´s some volume-related problem there...

Edited by Netvudu, 08 June 2011 - 03:44 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users