$HIP and paths workflow

Hi guys,

As you can probably tell from the question I'm pretty new to Houdini and I have a question about folder structures, $HIP and paths...

So let's say I'm working on a project that's structured like this that I guess is pretty standard.

[PROJECT NAME]

[hip_files] - contains houdini hip files organized in folders for each shot

[shot_1] - houdini hip files for shot_1

[shot_2] - houdini hip files for shot_1

[shot_3] - houdini hip files for shot_1

[textures] - texture maps

[simulation_cache] - where to save the simulation cache

[render_output] - where to save the render files

If I refer the textures or simulation cache or render output with the entire path everything is fine on my machine. But if I move the project on another machine without being able to put the project folder at the same address as it was previously or if I move the project folder in another location on my computer then the textures, cache or render output won't be accessible.

Now if I use $HIP when I get a texture houdini will look for that texture inside the folder where the scene that I opened was. So in my example let's say I open shot_1.hip then houdini will look for the texture inside the folder [shot_1]. Instead it should go back 2 folders until [PROJECT_NAME] and look for the texture inside [textures].

How do I solve this? Is there a way to set the $HIP address to be another folder than the one that contains the hip file that I opened? Or in the path name can I specify to go up 2 folders and than check in another?

Many thanks,

Adrian

Hi guys,

As you can probably tell from the question I'm pretty new to Houdini and I have a question about folder structures, $HIP and paths...

So let's say I'm working on a project that's structured like this that I guess is pretty standard.

[PROJECT NAME]

[hip_files] - contains houdini hip files organized in folders for each shot

[shot_1] - houdini hip files for shot_1

[shot_2] - houdini hip files for shot_1