Demystify Archviz in Houdini

neonbulbs80

Got an idea some months ago on how most people use Houdini mostly for Vfx. In a way I always think that CG softwares are just a tool, the difference is how can we use it to get what we want. So I'm trying to demystify the usage of Houdini to do architectural visualizations. My goal in here is not for trying to proof something it's just an exercise for me to get use to with Houdini, since I'm still quite new with Houdini and I found it fascinating.

Ranging from procedural modelling, digital assets, lighting and rendering, this personal project is my hobby other than my demanding deadline at my workplace. So, I hope be able to finish it and hope you guys can give suggestions and critiques.

post-6390-133146826243_thumb.jpg

post-6390-133146828711_thumb.jpg

Cheers..

At this moment it looks good, I hope to see that shelf scene textured :)

When I tested Houdini to render studio type scene, it actualy did a better lightning than Vray, at least it looked the way I want.

Cheers,

Tom

Nice ones Donny!

I do agree that Houdini is way more powerful than "just" doing effects.

Personally I have been looking to find a procedual way to do 3D ever since I started, and thought for a long time that Maya was the way for me.

Now that I have found Houdini, I am just so happy, and walk around thinking how to solve problems in it everyday!

I especially like the way you can create really nice procedual shaders, displacements and renderings and I think that´s where Houdini is really underestimated so far (like architectual renderings etc).

Anyway, keep up the good work!

That's a great idea.

Indeed 3D software is just a tool, but the tool can also influence the work.

Houdini easily give you the math, expression and procedural way of thinking without loose the destructible way of thinking.

That can help your work step out. Can only help, the rest is up to you.