Flicker on RBD sim when rested (Lighting?)

Hey guys,

I haven't stopped by the forums in several months but picked up an old simple project I was working on and finished it this weekend. I'm relatively new to Houdini, but know my way around the program quite well.

I've made an RBD simulation with some glue effects (link to video below), but I seem to have a problem with the lighting and shadows "Flickering" once one of the object pieces comes to rest. It's not the pieces still moving, as they often do, it's actually something with the shader or lighting. But I don't know what?

Any idea what might cause this and how I can fix it?

Things to note:

The Torus pieces are using a Glass shader - no object/environment reflecting - Refraction model (Translucency) - otherwise pretty default settings I think

I tried lowering the opacity limit to 0.75 in render... it made the render take like 12 hours, and still did not fix the issue. (Physically Based Rendering)

No motion blur, No depth of field.

Rendered as PNG's with a gaussian 2 2 filter.

** I don't know what the random red glare on the pieces is either, but it looks kinda neat so don't care about that. heh.

Video Link: https://vimeo.com/67014605

Any replies appreciated!

Edited by Eucalyptus

Any ideas on this?

It's using ray-traced shadows with default settings. Even if I could narrow it down to a lighting, shader or shadow problem I could tweak at least.

Scene uses a single light, nothing fancy. Area light I think, not at home so can't check.

Can't tell for sure, but it looks likethe pieces are actually jittering from the sim. I only say this because the two pieces that get stuck in the box at the top aren't jittering, but the ones resting on the ground are. Are you using bullet by any chance?

Hey man! Are you sure they are completely rested?