[ABC] - attributes on transform in Maya -> Houdini

Korben

Hello all,

I'm new to abc, and would like to get all the attributes I created in Maya to Houdini.

In fact I have created many attributes on transforms and shapes nodes and export them to abc ( all the attributes are correctly exported atm )

In Houdini, I can only see the "shapes attr" and not the "transforms attr" ( which seems logical for me as Maya and Houdini handle transforms differently )

Is there any trick to see this "transform attr" ?

I manage to get the value of these attributes with Python ( with the help of _alembic_hom_extensions ) , but I would like to see these attributes in the network view ( As I do with shapes attributes)

Any idea ?

Any help would be greatly rewarded with a big THX ! ;)

Not that I know, but something tells me that arbitrary attributes don't transfer with Alembic.

I would transfer the attributes with image maps. First UV your object, then paint your attribute values from black to white. Then when you pipe it over to Houdini your can queery the maps in a shader or with a tex expression.

What is the effect you are trying to accomplish? Why not set the attributes in Houdini?

• 4 weeks later...

I think the following is similar to what you could do:

For attaching shape attributes to Alembic delayed load primitives, I made an attribcreate node with a _alembic_hom_extensions python expression used to access the attribute I want, using "abcPath" as the route to the correct shape in the abc file.

Could you not use the abcPath of the transform to get access to its attributes in the alembic file? I haven't checked personally.

My solution applies to accessing a transform in a SOP, though... I suppose using the alembic archive node you would have to create a script to add all of the spare parameters to Houdini's object nodes with the right expression in each parameter.