pin with packed?

ekenryd

Hi,

I'm new to houdini and I wonder how you pin geometry when using packed objects?

I've shattered some stuff and want them to remain in place, i.e not effected by gravity, until my colliders hit them. What is the most common way to do this with packed objects? My google fu seems inadequte when it comes to houdini.

Thanks for your answers.

Edited by ekenryd

While very interesting, it felt quite high level sometimes (still at a very basic level) and it still didn't really solve my problem. I just want a simple pin constraint, which defies gravity and breaks depending on the force it gets. I will look more into it, thanks for the link anyhow.

• Like 1

The 'Chains' example file for the Constraint Network DOP shows how to set up pin constraints for packed objects.

An alternate approach would be to use the 'active' point attribute to make the object static until an impact occurs against the object.

Forces aren't any different - they cause the object to move (and violate the constraint), and the solver then does some work to attempt to enforce the constraint. The exception is glue, which only can be broken by collisions.

I'd suggest submitting a bug report if an example file is crashing.

• 3 weeks later...

Since this thread is open I would like to ask help to understand the "Chains" file example in order for me to understand the pin contraint with packed RBD objects.

In the end of the contraint network you end up with the double of the points, which seems to be one for the anchor and one for the goal position, correct me if I am wrong, but there is also one point with no piece attribute relating to it even though it acts as the top pin constraint, it´s really confusing can anyone give a little explanation about how the hard constraint DOP really work with those network constraints?

Thanks!