HELP!!! My smoke sim is blurry after rendering in 1080p

arkahtek

Hey guys i'm new to houdini i've been playing around in it for about a month now and i created a smoke sim moving toward the camera with the help of a forum member here called "Old school" I hope some of you awesome members here can help a newbie again. I used a box as an emitter and changed the dimensions, basically making it rectangular, then i dropped down a volcano from the shelf tools..i wanted to experiment with that instead of using billowy smoke. I've tried as much as what is within my knowledge of houdini ..which is not a lot icon_smile.gif to get this sim to not look so blurry. At 640x388 the sim looks good, but at 1080p the sim looks blurry..I've tried playing with the camera settings, i played with the settings in mantra, i turned up the pixels to 50x50, although the final render you see in the screenshot is on default pixels of 10x10, i tried all of the render options, i've tried sharpening in the pyro solver..with just slightly better results. I've included the hip file and a screenshot of the final render in 1080p. I have the full fx version, not apprentice. Can one of you Masters help me? My eyes is glued to this forum for help so i'll respond very quickly thanks.. icon_biggrin.gif 

post-12008-0-92507600-1409933411_thumb.p

final outward smoke .hip

Edited by arkahtek

Hey Donnell,

First off keep in mind that the shelf tools for 'Billowy, wispy, volcano, etc' are all referring to different settings of the same network, its all just settings and keyframes on the pyro solver network with a fluid source.

On the geometry object that you are importing your simulated fluid from, try using the volume filtering drop down, if you want sharper features try using sinc-sharpening and increasing the volume filter slightly, it may increase render time slightly but it should have the affect you desire.