3ds max or switch to houdini fx ??

faouzikha

hi guys im faouzi junior fx artist from morocco casablanca i work with 3ds max stuff . fumefx - thinking particles - krakatoa - particle flow - rayfire ... 

i have one question for u if it possible .

recently i became interested in houdini fx  i find he is complete software and specially sidefx do a good update on him year after year and i think is easy to learn that software , 

my question is : as junior fx artist did i should continue progressing on 3ds max or switch to houdini fx ? because i see it houdini is the future .

thank you

Hello,

I've been using Houdini for the past 10 years, so my answer will be a bit biased towards Houdini. Side Effects has Daily Builds of Houdini. That's something Autodesk doesn't offer. Houdini has everything built in. You do not need to think about plug-ins. Houdini is different than 3ds Max or Maya but I don't think it's hard to learn and Side Effects has improved the docs greatly over the years. You can rent floating network licenses of Houdini. Autodesk does not offer that either.

when you willed to learn houdini just do it only the you will see whats all about it and what you can do with it.

a lot of people talking about houdini how it's complicated takes long to learn, slow, complex, and so on....  i would say it's a beast and you can take the chance to handle it.... :-) 

From an efficiency pov , especially if you target commercials / individual projects, i'm not sure you will gain that much.

Very good Max FX artist with their huge bag of pluggins can work very fast / very efficiently with excellent result.

But learning Houdini if you have the time and courrage is definitly a strong choice.