Houdini vs. Maya

Hi,

Actually I use Maya for my work. I do character modelling, texturing, rendering and never animation and no fx. Maya is a great tool and I'm satisfied with it. But I also look for more efficient solutions in the workflow. Recentley I learned about Houdini and tried a simple tutorial. I like the Houdini procedural structure and it reminds me working in Maya's hypershade but in more wide aspect. I also got some questions:

- In tutorial I was doing very simple geometry. Does the procedural nature of Houdini as effective for complex organic surfaces?

- Does it have subdivision surfaces or something like that?

- How fast is the workflow comparing to Maya?

- Does it have any equivalent of paintfx, fur? How do they model hairs, fur or plants in Houdini?

- I heard Houdini is more for programmers, than for artist. I'm an artist and I appreciate a beautiful picture as a result (not a nice script;)

Sorry for a long question list, but I have to decide should I spend time on testing Houdini or not?

Thank you.

PS Sorry for my possibly bad English.

Hi Saugaro,

I answered your post lightly in the cgalk forums, but I'll continue here...

- In tutorial I was doing very simple geometry. Does the procedural nature of Houdini as effective for complex organic surfaces?