Efficient FLIP workflows (mechanical animation)

brasco

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to H, been using it on and off for the last 4 months, I'm almost overwhelmed by the versatility and potential!

There's a few questions I have about FLIP workflows related to a project I'm working on.

The task is to simulate a valve in different states allowing different flows and fluids to mix or be kept separate and I'm finding the required resolution and substeps to be really high to achieve a nice looking fluid and also avoid leaks.

Here's some screenshots of the product to give you an idea of what I'm dealing with, they're concept fluids (ie. the fluids are just some static meshes I threw in for look dev):

Xpeyw0h.png?1

pXWlxOV.png?1

The top image shows the valve in a closed state, so it's the easiest one to test out, but eventually I'll have liquids all over the place whilst the valve opens and closes.

My current collider workflow is import Alembic > VDB > Volume collision in the DOP. That seems to work well, but can be slow in itself.

So I have two main questions:

1. Is there a way to have a lower res sim drive a high res sim so the times overall are kept much tighter? I'm only running on a single hexacore, so I'm seeing crazy long sim times (12Hr+ for 400 frames).

2. The chambers need to fill up and I'm finding it hard to get enough particles flowing through to actually reach the top! Here's the crazy geo I've had to create to get this working:

vZembuc.png

cGHUgMS.png

The "funnels" are filled by FLIP fluid emitters (dark blue cylinders) and that drops into the pipe and runs across the valve, it then pools at the blocked off pipe and it fills up.

Is this the only way to get this to work or am I missing something really obvious that would make everything way more efficient?

(Sorry for the mega long first post... :))

cheers

brasc