Non Linear Animation

Dezra

Hi to everyone.

I am just starting to learn character animation. From what I 've seen houdini's character tools are very powerfull. I have some questions though:

1) Is there a non-linear animation system in Houdini (similar to Maya's Trax editor) ?

2) Can I create a rig for a character , store poses for that rig, and then recall those poses at different frames(maybe from HUD sliders)?

3) Can I mix morph target animation with bone animation for facial rigs?

Sorry if the questions sound stupid but when it comes to character animation I'm a complete "newb" :) .

Welcome Dezra!

I hope we can answer your questions..

1) Is there a non-linear animation system in Houdini (similar to Maya's Trax editor) ?

It has something incredibly powerful called CHOPs. This allows extremely advanced motion editing and compositing. Its like Trax on steroids - at perhaps the cost of the elemetal interface of Trax. It's more technical but does allow for some really advanced motion editing.

2) Can I create a rig for a character , store poses for that rig, and then recall those poses at different frames(maybe from HUD sliders)?

Do you mean like a snapshot of the pose? No, there is nothing that currently exists to do that, but it is very possible and very easy to take snapshots of channel info and store it for later retrieval - probably a few lines of hscript could get you something going on that.

3) Can I mix morph target animation with bone animation for facial rigs?

Yes, for sure.

Hope this help,

Jason

2-> So I should basically find a way to record(snapshot) every channel of the rig using HScript?

14291[/snapback]

Yeah - I really doubt this would be too diffifcult with the help of CHOPs. I'm sure there is more to it that I'm not considering, but my initial thought it that it shouldn't be too hard. Even still, you have to write a usable snapshot system yourself in Maya, don't you? (I know we did)