Houdini Pyro : Nuclear Mushroom

Captain_Kiwii

Hi,

Studying VFX an using essentially maya and fume fx until now, i'm starting to learn Houdini.
As I'm quite new to houdini and so to pyro, I was looking for some help.

I read/listen a few tuts over the net about pyro, made some tests but I have some difficulties to get what i want.

On the one hand, the overall Idea is to create some nuclear mushroom like this one 

The thing is I do not get how to tweak the explosion shape/velociti etc. I heard (actually i read) something about some master node which set 80% of the sim (the others would be some tweak altering the master node) but did not find it. As I get it, i have to start from a fire ball in order to get the rising mushroom effect?

On the other hand, I was wondering if we could drive the smoke shape at the end in order to get a skull for example like this smoke morphing here 

Thanks for advance, any tips/advice/link/Tutorial is welcome.

Edited by Captain_Kiwii

So I recently did this clip and I started out using the Side Effects Nuke asset available from Orbolt and tweaked it a bit - but their foundation for that setup is a really good example for studying and tweaking to see how to achieve variants of the mushroom shape...

And in this shot you never see the final shape, but I got it pretty funky looking, very mushroomy - here's a screencap from a lowres sim during RnD...

9g1fJeZ.jpg

I was about to link to this - but it's the wrong app I think...  :blink:  :D 

But the idea is the same, you basically need to get the directions from somewhere - in that setup I used particles, in Houdini you can pretty easily create a velocity field and then use that in a Pyro setup, basically the same technique I used here... (or in the tornado setup I posted here)

And to get the result you post in that picture, you'll also need to have the smoke (dust) expand quickly, so you get that "poof".