Google Cloud Renderfarm with indie license.

sebkaine

Hi guys,

I would like to get your pov about the feasibility of seting up a small farm with 3 Houdini Indie Engine license.

I am actually debating beetween buy and set up 3 machines or use a cloud solution.

I am really not an expert on those subject so i would like to know if it's possible ?

Indie license are not floating so they are lock to one MAC adress.

I guess Google instance get a new MAC adress each time you start a new machine ?

I also guess that there are no way to emulate a fix MAC adress on random instance ?

There should be a way to setup a license server, and ask a license from your google instance throw a VPN ... but this

would be only possible in a floating license scenario.

So at the moment my conclusion is that it is impossible to do so ... but i would be happy to hear some expert advise just to be sure at 100%

Thanks for your help !

Cheers

E

Edited by sebkaine

i think the amazon or the coming gridmarkers would make more sense for cloud rendering license fees are include.

a local system would make more sense when you want to have easy control and when you can feed it with data 24/7.

gridmarkers: http://forums.odforce.net/topic/23687-gridmarkets-houdinimantra-rendering-service/ 

it's a cost thing calculate when it make more sense to have a local farm or a cloud solution.

• Like 1

Hi Sebkaine,

We may be able to help with your decision making.  

Sign up for GridMarkets' beta test (see gridmarkets.com/beta-signup) - and kick the tires on our cloud based Houdini rendering service at no cost, risk or obligation.  Mandrake0 is correct - Houdini licensing is included in the rendering price - which your free beta credits will cover.

Pat

Thanks for your answer guys !

I will definitly try GridMarkets beta .

My interesting in a custom home made cloud is better control of cost / power.

On the SESI announcement for EC2 offer you have :