Houdini RAM usage, CPU? limit

Is there any way how I can limit Houdini RAM and CPU usage while writing out simulations with ROP outputdriver?

My system crashed few times already while writing out whitewater particles. and I had to start all over again.

In Adobe software there's simple setting in preferences - how much RAM to leave for other software to use.

In houdini what I found is that I can bump down cache size on DOP, and that is basically it.

I'm new to houdini.

Also I'm using save to disk in background. so it should use less ram

Now simulation is 85% done. so gonna render everything I hope.

What I did is I unchecked write cache al all on DOP net and whitewater DOP, don't know if this is the most efficient way to render.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you

My system is not so bad, so I should be able to write out large simulations.

Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4790k (4.0GHz) 8MB Cache

32GB KINGSTON HYPER-X FURY DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (4 x 8GB)

4GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 970

You can also try the resume cache feature that way you can pick up where the crash happened. I just learned about this. It is located on the Cache TAB of the AutoDop Network. Try activating Save Checkpoints and read the help card.

what operating system?  windows really sucks with memory management in houdini.  linux is boatloads better.

save in background actually INCREASES ram, so if you're hitting a problem with ram, turn it off.  save in bg will spawn off copies of your sim data to a write cache after each frame is simmed so it can continue the sim while a separate thread does the writing from that cache.  if you have a really massive data set or a slow drive, you might end up with two or three or more whole sims in ram at the same time.

what operating system?  windows really sucks with memory management in houdini.  linux is boatloads better.