[BULLET] Switch constraints during a RBD simulation

Alkyum

Hi guys,

I'm actually working on a destruction setup but I have some trouble.

When my Glue constraint reach an @impact value I change the @constraint_name to "Spring" to simulate some friction.

Then I want to break the Spring constraint based on the @force.
The problem is that the attribute "force" didn't appears when I change it dynamicaly during the simulation, it appears only when I directly start with a Spring constraint.

I just have the Glue attributes staying all the simulation long.

Is it normal?

Thank you in advance.

destruction_detail.hip

Soooooo weird, I was fighting with that bug last night during 3 hours, I'm not a pro in bullet so I was thinking it was me, maybe restarting Houdini resolved the problem.

Thank you for your help Pavel ! Love your works, all my setup is based on your "Bullet Fracture Control", I'm trying to reproduce the same level of details. :)

• 4 months later...

Hey guys,

I am also trying to switch constraint networks based on impact data. In this file I am using a sop solver to detect when the impact happens, and then I switch from glue (which holds everything together as the object falls) to a cone/twist (so that it can bend and break). The main issues I am having right now are:

1) I am losing a buttload of energy when the switch happens. If there were a way to switch before the actual impact I'm sure that would work...

2) The cone constraints are acting funky as hell, whipping random objects all over the place!

3) I have tried many different methods but I cannot seem to get things to come to a complete rest. I have tried artificial dampening, setting objects @active to 0 when below a certain threshold (this works the best) and playing with the collision padding and penetration threshold / substeps to no real avail.