Transparent plastic material, how to?

irongraft

Hi guys,

I'm very brand new to this community and to this amazing software, other than being a newby in the 3D graphics field.

Some months ago, I started studying Blender, which seems to me to be a great software. For some reasons I approached to Houdini and wanted to make the very same model I've realized with Blender also with it. It is attached.

My model is a simple laboratory couple of vials with some liquid inside. As you can see, with Blender I've managed to do two great (for me) things, that I'm not able to replicate with Houdini:

1) thick surfaces (In blender it exists the "solidify" function that makes primitives thicker automatically);

2) the effect of curved plastic, darker and less refractive (!?)

3) the actual material effect that here looks not glass but plastic, that I'm not able to replicate.

Could you drive me on the right path, with suggestions on how to set parameters, shaders, and whatnot? (also readings)

Thanks and happy Easter,

Tom

post-16184-0-15873600-1458987003_thumb.p

You can emulate Blender's Solidify modifier by using a PolyExtrude node and setting the distance to a small number.

For the shader use the Mantra Surface. You could start with the Glass preset or start with the Plastic preset and add Opacity Falloff.

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini15.0/nodes/shop/mantrasurface

Here is a shader building tutorial as well.

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini15.0/shade/build

thanks for the reply,

1) after using the PolyExtrude node, shoud I use the Boolean to make the intersection between the outer and inner surface?

2) If yes, can you help me understand the inside/outside IOR values?