[Houdini 15] PyroFX explosion render question

Wurglor

Hi guys,

I'm quite new at this stuff and my English is awful so please go easy on me D: 

I've been following This tutorial trying to figure out how to make an explosion in Houdini and I've got pretty far but once he got to the rendering part i got lost. Can't for the life of me find out why all the tabs, options and other stuff are different and how to gain similar results.

Can someone please explain to me how i could replicate his steps for rendering in 15th version since everything's different , also can someone explain why do i have to use volume visualization node in order to gain similar results in the scene view and does it affect render results in any way?

Thanks

Edited by Wurglor

yeah, pyro shader 3.0 is different than pyro 2.0.  you might be able to "opunhide" a pyro v2 shader, tho.  in hscript textport type "opunhide" and it'll list everything hidden.  you can see if there's a pyro v2 in there... not at a workstation at the moment or i'd look myself.

that said, pyro 3.0 is way better.  generally speaking, the idea in the pyro shader is to take 2 or 3 volume fields and use them to make your explosion look nice.  the density field is pretty much the "smoke" portion of your explosion.  the fire is usually a combo of heat and temperature, but i've often found heat by itself suffices.

the underlying theory is to have one field drive the color of the flames and another field drive the intensity.  like i said, i usually use heat for both.  then it's just a matter of finding good multipliers for each.  you can use the "physically accurate" color mapping or use the "artistic" color ramp (you'll have to generate the ramp yourself).  the trick is that your shader has to be tuned for the sim that's generating it.  there are not really any units on density or temperature or heat... they could be 0-1 or 0-100000 depending on how you set things up in your sim.