Creating VEX libraries

Christian S

Hi,

I've tried to find information about this but it's hard to come by or maybe I'm not looking in the right spot. After all I'm an improvise programmer.

I want to create VEX libraries of functions and possibly structs (but let's start with functions). You know, functions I would use often and that I would not have to copy paste from AttribWrangle to AttribWrangle nodes.

These functions should be accessible using #include (I think). So here is a few questions to get me started...

1) How to structure the inside of the file? I don't want to compile them into an asset. For example if I put this straight into a .vfl file and compile it will it work or it needs a header?

// Function to Round at specified intervals
int roundToInterval(float val; int interval) {
    float new_val = ceil(val / interval) * interval;
    return int(new_val);
}

2) How to compile those files? Seriously I don't understand any of the compiler stuff... Do I even have to compile them??? What is a .h and do I need to use it? :(

3) Where to put the files? I want a common location that is not inside any of Houdini folder structure. Where do you specify that Houdini should look in an external folder for these extra functions? You know like adding HOUDINI_OTLSCAN_PATH to the houdini.env file. Is there a HOUDINI_VEX_PATH that I could use???

4) Finally, is using the files as simple as doing #include?

It would be nice that this was written somewhere because some of us don't have the programming background necessary to understand these easily.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thx!

Christian

Hi

1. Just like that.
2. You don't have to compile these files. Vfl-files will be compiled at runtime so if your function is huge it can be a good solution to compile them first. To compile vfl-files you use "C:\Program Files\Side Effects Software\Houdini 15.5.535\bin\vcc.exe" More info int the doc's