Curly Abstract Geometry

caskal

Hey guys, hows going?

I'm trying to figure out how to do this kind of stuff, as you already may know, these artists are Cristoph Bader, and Simon Holmedal, two genius.

I know there's an easy way to do in cinema 4d, with x-particles, a followsurface node and a turbulent noise, but the more I learn Houdini, the less I want to go back to my older apps, and the more I want to study fractals, nature, maths (always a hard thing for me since I'm a designer), but proceduralism is da bomb!

Sam welker posted a tut on creating swirly patterns on a plane, entagma has some on fractals, as well as for loop subdivision depending on attributes.

My questions, are these done with particles and solver? I really want to achieve this kind of complexity, If someone has a good tutorial or resource on stuff like "this particle goes here, and when spot this one the next do this" and stuff, pop behaviors explained for a 1 month houdini user, could be also a ray sop involved here to get the shapes?, at the same time they are uniform, noise?, trying to figure out but its driving me crazy, some key words to google would be very helpful, lately I'm more in abstract stuff than anything, started looking nature more closely, probably there's VEX involved here, thats my biggest fear, I guess I'll had to learn if I want to make power stuff.

Thanks for reading!

8516611972_48c8d7079b_b.jpg

tumblr_mz1ccxAUMX1ravlb0o1_500.jpg

swirl01.jpg

swirl04 (1).jpg

swirl04.jpg

• Like 1

5 hours ago, f1480187 said:

curlypig2.pngcurlypig.png

Use VDB point advection to output geometry. You need to compute a velocity vector, it's up to you. For example, just a curl noise (first image) is a good starting point, as well as cross product of @N and position delta using point cloud (second image, some noise applied also). It may be anything you could imagine, from fluid trails to volume thickness.

curlypig.hipnc