Mantra Glowing points and fake DOF, fake Light emitting

Hello,
please, I would like to achieve this kind of effect in my production:
render glowing lines, points.png

I am a freelancer, I have Houdini Indie and four computers (one 6core and three 4core-i7). I do jingles for local event agency. The projects I do are quite low-budget and deadline is in a week or two usually. I had to do this in a week, so I have used my C4D https://vimeo.com/186295732

Now I am more and more using Houdini. Please, would you be so kind and direct me to a solution?

A] Mantra superfast shader (fake)
It doesnt have to be photorealistic - points do not emit light, but they reflect on surfaces.

Can I get under cca 2 seconds for such glowing line (A-reference), fullHD frame, on my local CPUs?

Should I "clone" points onto the line?
Can I set the blending mode of the points to be additive?
Can I set the fuzzines of a point by custom gradient (radial from center of the point)?
Btw can I set the alpha of a point with bitmap, for example small earths?

For further development, I want to go this way:

B] Mantra semi-physical shader
Is it possible to get under cca 10 sec render time, with this:
- fake depth of field (for example by setting the radius bigger and darker)
- fake interacting with volumes (bigger radius, darker)
- can I somehow fake, that points are emitting light?
Maybe by some proximity shader on the "rigid" objects or volumes?

This is beautiful:
https://www.instagram.com/rbrthrsk/

C) Gpu renderer?
Should I go for some GPU renderer? I like mantra very much.
This is done with the Redshift
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/XOKQn

Edited by ikoon
  • Like 3

I have found thread about the blending modes here: https://www.sidefx.com/forum/topic/30813 There is hip with a shader, who solves the additive blending. I have done some tests. Credit goes to Sadjad Rabiee from the mentioned thread.

Rendertime 1280x720 on one six core cpu:
- with DOF is 11 second
- without DOF is 10 seconds