Anyone work with Decals?

Hiya! I'm still new to Houdini and I was wondering if anyone had made use of 3D decals (projected textures) in Houdini? I've found them really useful in the past and I was wondering if anyone had played around with them. 

They look like this kinda thing:

decalfinishedworking.jpg

I'm not talking about the Decal material node, I mean things similar in effect to what is talked about in this blog post.

Thanks!

Edited by Jack Fractal

decals, as Jack mentioned, are projected textures :P
usually on top of other objects or terrain that already have a texture themselves.
Its like using camera-space UVs (but from a non camera object) to add texturing on top of other objects.

I have personally not used them inside Houdini, but it should be totally possible to create decal-spawning-positions and orientations, and then use those in your game engine.

If you want to use them inside Houdini, you may need to do some more advance shader writing, or you could apply your decals to the vertex colors,
which should be relatively easy to do, but less optimized of course as you'll need high-res geometry.

On the UV Texture Sop with the Texture Type use "Perspective from Camera" and assign your camera. Like 6ril said you may need to use multiple uv layers if you are stacking textures or UV Co-ordinates. In your shader or engine, just maker sure it reads the appropriate UV channel for the correct texture.

In realtime engines the decals are are often projected at render time, and these days against the g-buffer (a.k.a. world-position pass in offlineland)

And I think it's a good idea to give these kinds of techniques a special name, makes it easier to speak about them.

3 minutes ago, eetu said:

And I think it's a good idea to give these kinds of techniques a special name, makes it easier to speak about them.