How do I build this structure? Method to the randomness.

Hi everyone, I'm new to the Houdini game but have been working in the industry for a while. I'm currently making the long overdue transition onto Houdini from Softimage, so please bare with me ;) I have a question that I'm hoping some of you can help me out with. My aim is to build the structure that I have attached to this post. My initial thoughts are:

- To build the rough shape as a repeatable pattern (completed this so far and attached it!),

- from this surface/volume I emit a bunch of points and link them up with a corresponding point to make a line.

- Do some fancy noise/turbulence and yet still keep the overall volume / shape / flow . 

It's this last stage I'm having the most trouble with, I can't get a decent noise that still maintains the volume. I'm also unable to really flow the points around/within the curvature of the mesh in a way that matches the reference. I'm still really new to Houdini so I'm sure I'm missing some obvious tricks. Does anyone have any ideas?

It's worth pointing out that I've been looking at the methods of generating lines via volume trails and at least from what I can see, the curl-noise doesn't seem to do it? It's a nice effect but not the right look. I imagine it would be something more a long these lines but I still need to figure out the shapematching / flow aspect of it.

https://vimeo.com/190948059

Regards,

Tim

Strands.jpg

Strands_Emmiter.JPG

BuildStrandVolume.hipnc

Edited by iceneko
spelling

Are you starting with a grid to get the bumpy form? If you are you could set it to rows, so you have line primitives with many points, process it to give it bumps and then for each row create as many duplicate threads as you want. Add noise to each of these threads an offset it slightly from the parent thread, this would essentially be a hair up-res. Let me know if this makes sense, hope this helps.

-Tighe