Tips, suggestions and strategies for learning Houdini

art3mis

After watching hundreds of hours of tutorials the past couple years its a bit disconcerting to realize how little I've retained. There has to be a better way!

So I'm asking the Houdini community, what are your tips, strategies etc for REALLY learning new techniques in Houdini?

Try to avoid shelf tools? Master SOPs before DOPs? Give yourself personal projects? Read the official SESI documentation?   Any specific podcasts, blogs, courses or instructors?

Edited by art3mis

Do you use any other SW for 3D? I was using c4d. To learn Houdini I had to migrate fully. I am still learning H, but I had to forgot those "blackbox" c4d principles. And repeat and repeat and repeat the new Houdini principles. Btw for me, it is very important to be fast in the GUI, not to be slowed down by thinking about the GUI.

my customized keyboard: http://bit.ly/2rSZhTU
i have printed the wacom hotkeys to learn them: http://bit.ly/2sd3OQv

Until you get your node acumen up, generally if you can trace how the data flows and how it's manipulated that's really the only thing that matters. Each node has an affect on your your original source, it doesn't fully matter how that node works, but just how the data is affected. Does it add UV's or Normal's, is it on the Vertex, Point, Primitive, Detail, or Object level. Make sure you trace what each node is doing by MMB on the node and having the detail sheet open, or any other relevant viewer of the data for the context. Then take one step at a time. Break a job down into each element. Take each frame and simply state what each element is doing, the more extensive your break it down and the more nodes you learn, you'll see the connections. Houdini is a really, really big package, this should not be under estimated. Even if you have been using the software for decades, you will not know all the 1500+ nodes and all the facets of it's code. So no worries, Stay Calm and Carry On. ;)

• Like 1