Building a relatively simple building facade system for placement of premade modular pieces.

Azuril

Hello,

I am relatively new to houdini - I have used it years prior for some things but now I have just acquired an indie license for development of my unreal game. At the moment I am making a building facade system that will place premade modular pieces depending on a few variables.
I was hoping that perhaps some guru's could peruse this little plan i have drawn up for how i envision it to work.

at the moment I am trying to workout step 4 by using bounding boxes made from the original geo to select the new resampled walls and place them into sections. I want to bound them and in the groupSOP name the sections per iteration of the foreach node they are inside. finding the correct syntax for this has been a problem so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ill be keeping this thread alive over the course of my findings.

Cheers
Az

buildingfacades.jpg

BuildingGenerator.hiplc

• Like 1

Ok, so looks like the trusty facet with cusp polygons enabled gives me the sections! *so simple*

Now I am trying to do step 7 - randomly picking pairs and triplets of faces and grouping them, leaving the stragglers as 1x pieces..

any ideas let me know.

Here is a possible solution for step-7.

Using custom code in detail mode of a wrangle. Here a random number is generated 0-2. Then each primitive is skipped for that amount of primitives and then added to a related group. After processing three groups are available. typeOne, typeTwo, and typeThree. Then you can proceed to step-8 processing.

untitled-1.jpg

ap_BuildingGenerator_STEP-7.hiplc

Edited by Atom
  • Like 1

Thats fantastic thanks @Atom!

Im using it now, but am trying to change it so that sections of 1 will show up more often. It seems extremely rare. maybe its just the nature of the algorithm that you get 1's bunched together because they skip past the prims that have already been allocated?