Multithreaded Geometry Rop?

I'm brand new to houdini and doing some tutorials. I've got a heavy bit of metaball geometry writing out to disk using a geometry rop and it seems to only use one proc of my 4 proc system. Is there a way to distribute it to all 4 procs? There is nothing in the network that I know of that would force it to be a linear frame dependant cook.

Thanks in advance

No, there's not. Most of the geometry library and SOPs is not threadable, so it cannot take advantage of multiple CPUs.

22395[/snapback]

I was more hoping to find a way to render the geometry rop individual frames to different cpu's at the same time. There's probably no way built into houdini for it to automatically cook a frame per processor but there must be a way to drop batches of frames on each processor, through a command line maybe?

I sort or investigated this... Thinking out loud here.

It seems like it might be possible to do with a shell script in Linux, I haven't really looked at Windows, but it may be possible there as well because I believe Windows does allow you to bind processes to CPUs (I don't know if you can do this through a shell though). Since it seems you can fire up multiple Houdini sessions on the same box without eating up extra licenses it should be doable with a bit of effort.

What I found out is that Linux does not really support processor affinity. It has a scheduler that tries to keep processes bound to specific CPUs but you cannot force a process onto a specific CPU yourself. Linux is supposed to mange the load. What hopefully should happen is that if you fire up 4 Houdini sessions, each one *should* get it's own CPU and stay there... according to what I read at least ;P