Building a new station

JJ FX

Hi there,

So finally, after 3 years of working on a laptop Im goin back to good old proper PC :)

Im planning to build it on my own, because I dont have a big budget. Sth around 2000-2300 for the whole case.

And ofcourse I would love to build it with Threadripper. But whatever I do the budget always reaches 3k.  So I guess it has to be Ryzen7 1800x. Maybe next time...

This is supposed to be 100% Houdini rig. So definatelly Linux, no crappy windows. I might work on some unity game projects too, so probably I need some proper distribution. I think only Ubuntu is fully supported by unity, but im no expert on that.

So few questions:

1) Does the frequency of RAM matter for simulation/rendering? Do I really need 3200mhz ram instread of some cheaper 2400mhz?

2) Is it worth to get a cheaper AMD instead of GTX? Because if Im going to experiance viewport glitches for $100 less price, than its not worth it

3) And ofcourse... is it possible to build it with Threadripper within this low budget.

Any any help very welcome. Because Im going to buy the components somewhere next week. And dont want to make some stupid mistake :)

Thank you!

1) With Ryzen processors, memory speed can have an impact on render-times and overall CPU performance. Hard to say weather it's significant enough to spend extra money. I have a Threadripper with 3200MHz RAM, but I doubt it would be noticeably slower with 2933 or 3000. I think you're okay with 2400MHz and speed/capacity is something you can always upgrade down the line.

2) I would never get an AMD card for 3D work.

3) My Threadripper build was around $3,500, and still full of compromises. Have you considered the Threadripper 1900x though?  I think it would be worth it to be on the X399 platform for upgrade-ability reasons. The mainstream Ryzen platforms limit you to only 64GB RAM and PCIe lanes/slots are limited. 

• 4 weeks later...
On 5/18/2018 at 9:50 AM, JJ FX said: