hair!!

betty

control? what's that?

this is my first attempt at hair and in very early stages. so haven't gotten to control just yet. and i only tried one method. unfortunately i've been tied up and will be for the next two to three weeks and then i'll get back to it.

they are all nurbs curves. i then took then into POPs and turned them to softbodies. attached forces, main one being wind as i was going for a hair blowing in the wind type of effect. i also animated the sphere the hairs are attached to see how shaking ones head will look along with testing collisions. i was very suprised at how well it came out. the animation really suprised me. it looks pretty damn good - especially as i don't really know what i'm doing.

i'm sure there are other ways which could be better especially for control, like i said didn't even go into this. looking forward to it. i want to a demo and feature hair and have looked at xsi and came away thinking hair and mental ray. but don't like anything else i saw. so it got me to try it in houdini. any houdini hair stylists with some tips would be cool.

also thinking of doing hair in an anime type of look, which i think should be kinda simple with blendSOP or springCHOP....but that's another thing altogether.

b

looks great betty, i think youre on the right track when assuming CHOPs for this. perhaps, bounding boxs can represent different *effect* areas...just control the bounding boxs through chops. of course it is easy in theory, we never run into problems....ever! :)

looks awesome betty! love the lighting...

ok, just thking out loud here...

I'm just curious about one thing....using softbodies in any software causes whatever geometry to get deformed in every which way, because the simulation pops down linear springs and that's not necessarily how stuff reacts, in short: it's hard for hair to conserve its length...you got strands stretching and acting "springy"...