Which Scripting Language To Learn?

Overload

Well the title sums it up. I'm new to the scripting and programming. I'm not sure where to start or what language to begin learning first, C, C++, Perl, Python?? I have renderman classes comming up in the Fall, so I want something that will help with that, as well as Houdini of course :). Thanks.

Python would be my suggestion. It can be used in a very simple linear way all the way up to fully Object oriented approaches and will give you a good grounding for all other languages and be useful along the way too.

28442[/snapback]

Have you used any book on python or just online resources?

I'd like to second/third the python nomination.

Certain aspects of python drive experienced coders a little batty (try the simple example of executing 4/3 -- what the hell?!?), but for my dollar, nothing beats the readability...

compare a block of python code to a block of perl code (i'm generalizing of course), and you'll very quickly realise how crucial that can be.

Cheers,

G

I'd like to second/third the python nomination.

Certain aspects of python drive experienced coders a little batty (try the simple example of executing 4/3 -- what the hell?!?), but for my dollar, nothing beats the readability...

compare a block of python code to a block of perl code (i'm generalizing of course), and you'll very quickly realise how crucial that can be.

Cheers,

G

28447[/snapback]

I think that python is very used along many vfx houses so is a great choose.

But, Keyframe, compare a block of python code with a block of Ruby code, sorry there are languages that beats python in readability :) (At least for me)

Avoid to begin with Perl is full of hacks and is not consistent and homogeneous, I think that Python and Ruby are good choices.

In fact Ruby is very popular too in some vfx and animation houses like Pixar for instance.