L-system Question

hi there,

I have a question about L-system. The thing is that I am doing my master project, and in this project, I intend to form a tree trunk with wires. I am thinking about using the L-system to animate wires in order to form the shape of the trunk. From a little knowledge I have, I am thinking about modeling the trunk and having the wires to creep along the geometry. So what I would like to know is that....Is there any way to have the wires to creep along the geometry by implementing the L-system? If not, is there any other alternatives to do so? One thing to note is that I don't want the inside of the trunk to be hollow either; in other words, the inside of the trunk will be full of wires creeping as well. It would very kind of you if any of you can help me out. Thank you in advance.

The below is the really rough photoshop image I created. The wired tree trunk is still not the correct shape that I am aiming yet, but it would give you guys a clearer picture of what I am doing.

post-2528-1184249958_thumb.jpg

cherm

I take it you've seen (and possibly been inspired by) the wire face that greets you in the Maya 7 splash screen?

maya7signatureimage_th.jpg

The artist is Meats Meier and you could get some ideas by looking at his methods. From what I remember

he paints a lot of the wire look from solid geometry by painting out the 'holes' between the wires. Here's a

link I found from a quick search but you can dig around more to learn how it works.

Meats Meier

This article mentions a Gnomon Z-brush tutorial which might be helpful (I haven't seen it) and I seem

to remember he did an old 3D World tutorial.

Anyway, although this technique doesn't animate too well you could imagine using it for the inner layers

of your wire-tree at least. If you onion skin several layers of your tree inwards you could apply various

versions of this sort of wire texture to each layer and animate the texture (or geometry). I think it would be