How To Enhance My Linux Environment.

Symbolic

Hi,

I have been using Linux for 7-8 months... it is usually my computer at Uni... And I am impressed with Linux...

I am graduating and I plan to keep my Linux workflow and run Houdini / Nuke on my Linux system.

So I have installed Ubuntu 7.04 on my MacBook Pro... it runs great... Houdini runs perfect... The performance is ok...

I am normally a Mac OSX user.

The system at Uni, yes it was Linux... but we were not allowed to change anything... basically it was managed by the System Admins... as one would expect...

So now I will be my own System Admin, which is quite dangerous...

The question is... what are the small tools that are good for Linux... that make life easy and any workflow comfortable...

Things like movie players (VLC? MPlayer?), MPEG2, MPEG1 etc encoders... RAR, ZIP, TAR tools etc... anything that you find cool in your own Linux environment....

Any tips... and ideas will be a great help...

And I plan to learn Phyton... Any good reason? :) Thanks.

The key here is to go ahead and just play with everything. :) The best way to find your own workflow is to experience the benefits and hurdles of personalizing your system first-hand. Since you're using a pretty mainstream distro with a great package manager take some time to dig around in synaptic and find out what things do and how you might use them...and quickly uninstall the ones you don't like much so you don't forget about it later and suffer from a bloated system.

It's a really good idea to be comfortable with writing shell scripts, even if they are really basic. I prefer bash personally, but any shell is good. It's a great skill to have for project directory management and creation especially.