Challenge #1 : Bridge Of Cards (apprentice Wip) - bealobo

bealobo

Hi there!

I'm in :rolleyes:

I'm very new to Houdini but I really like it so... let's see if I can do something nice. The sample animations are superb! and the challenge idea is fantastic.

I don't have the images with me so I cannot attach them now but just for the record:

I did my first attemp yesterday and I copied the cards to a curve and then used this curve for the bridge sides and to get points for the towers. It was ok, but I referenced a lot of channels in order to make a master control or an asset later on, and the thing end up being quite messy. Specially because I bended the card and had to change the pivot point like a billion times.

So, after watching others' threads I'm going to try a different approach. Also using curves and copy sops but hopefully cleaner.

Just one question. Are the cards bended?

Hi!

for some reason mantra won't allow me to render. Since I changed versions I have been unable to, I'll have to see what's going on.

In the meantime, I've started again and have used sweep instead of copy.

post-2189-1206009977_thumb.jpg

Another update and a problem I've faced and don't figured out how to solve.

The network is not very very procedural because of a couple of problems:

The first one is the second picture. When I use Copy SOP somehow the copies are rotated and not following the curve 100%, adding normals didn't solve it. I tried to used sweep but couldn't use it all the time. How do you control the direction of the copies?

The second problem is about referencing channels, for some reason I was doing the standard ch("../size/sz")/2 to drive the translation of the base curves to the sides of the base card, but these secondary curves were not exactly at the sides of the card.

Anyway, learning a lot.

Cheers

post-2189-1206055346_thumb.jpg

post-2189-1206055354_thumb.jpg