A hello to everyone

To start with,a hello from a newcomer.After playing around for some time with maya,and 3ds max 2 days ago I decided to do the move and get houdini apprentice and try it out.

Before I do start with the extremely noobish questions let me introduce myself.

My name is Alex and at this point I am studying 3d animation(mostly self study as here in Greece pace is really slow on animation).Hopefully some time next year if I am given the chance I would like to go and take a master in visual effects.Having searched solutions only affordable solution as it seems in the Horizon is the Bournemouth digital effects program.Doing a research I discovered they Use houdini in their program along with Fusion.(drums rolling....agony gets high....)Yes you understood correctly.I started wondering what houdini is (i know about the power it has in the industry).Wantint to be more prepared I decided to give it a first try by my own and learn the program.So I downloaded the free version,and got the magic of houdini book...I opened the program for the first time ready to show off at my cousin some stuff that could be done in the program and guess what happened...I think it was like hitting my head in a brick^^.This program is WAY too different than maya and 3ds max.I knew it would be hard to learn but heck did not think it was that bad.

Anyway to put the story short,I am not dissapointed that the program is that different,instead I have all the patience needed to start learning.I would like though to do some questions to the experts.Would be nice if you did answer.

1)Houdini and modeling.Doing a very fast search I discovered procedural modeling.(I know houdini is not that famous for its modeling stuff).Anyone would like please to tell me,when we mean procedural modeling we are talking about some kind of houdini modifier,or its programmable modeling?