Configuring $HIP and a project directory.

hopbin9

I know that in Maya and 3ds Max you can define a folder to hold all the files associated with your project.

In Houdini there is the $HIP variable, which defaults to my C:/users/username folder every time I start Houdini.

Is there a way to define a new location to store files for a project I'm working on?

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I can't find it anywhere in the manual.

• Like 1

I know that in Maya and 3ds Max you can define a folder to hold all the files associated with your project.

In Houdini there is the $HIP variable, which defaults to my C:/users/username folder every time I start Houdini.

Is there a way to define a new location to store files for a project I'm working on?

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I can't find it anywhere in the manual.

lol, noob... no worries everyone start somewhere, and I'm still learning every day. I couldn't find the help documentation for that specifically either....

$HIP is where you save your .hip file. So if you save your Test.hip in c:/users/username/Test.hip that will be the spot where $HIP looks. So $HIP/Textures/Test_Image.rat, your file will be found in c:/users/username/Textures/Test.rat There is no such thing as set project directory like maya

It's often easiest to leave your hips not in a sub folder of your project directory like Max or Maya, and leave them on top and drop your iterations into a backup folder later, other wise you need to back out of your directory. So say you have a project folder with your .hips in scene and textures in another you'll need to type $HIP/../Textures/Test.rat Ok it's not really complicated, but I'm lazy

Look up, Expressions in file names, and, maya transition guide, those will help you on some similar stuff

I'm glad someone asked about this...

I was just thinking about it also.