Some questions about volume fluids

lisux

Hi all.

It is my first time doing fluids effect using the volume smoke solver in Houdini.

I have some doubts about it:

- Control density emission: I am used to have a parameter to control how much density you want to emit from a nobject. when you load your emission objects and make a source relationship what the solver does is to emit 1 in every voxel into your emitter. Any why to scale this?. May I use point attributes in my emission geo to do it?

I know you can do it for the initial density but I dont know how to do it for sources added using a relationship.

- The upress is giving me some problems: I have made my low rez sim, I got some density in my fluid at all times. But when doing the upress in some parts of the sim I got nothing and then the domains begins to be filled again with smoke. It looks like the upress density gets dissipated faster than the density in the low rez.

- Divergence: It is possible to tweak the divergence field so I can put negative values, this will, in theory, attract the fluid and makes it dissapears, similar to a mix of an attractor and a sink.

- (0, 0, 0) Bouyancy: I want my bouyancy force to go in all directions, I ant to get an expansion effect, may I get it using an axis for the bouyancy direction like 0, 0, 0. Iam using it right now but not sure if it is affecting the sim. So I am curious what you shoul get with a bouyancy direction of 0, 0, 0 and how to expand my smoke.

Well I think so far is enough :)

Thanks for the help.

• Like 1
  • Downvote 1

About divergence, You want to sink density when Div < 0 and source when Div > 0 is that what you want to do ?

I think Smoke/Pyro Solver compute divergence field by default, I'm typing fro the frok the phone, so I can't check it.

I guess divergence field is display as smoke field so you don't see negative values, did you try gas calculate to add divergence to temperature/density ?