Cook-Torrance Model in Mantra Shader ?

The only BRDF available in mantra shader are Phong / Blinn / Cone . All those model sound pretty old school now. So i was wondering if what SESI call Phong and Blinn are really the old implementation ?

Or maybe they are using the more recent Energy-conserving Blinn-Phong model. But anyway i would like to use Cook-Torrance as my only Specular model for isotropic surface to simplify the shader. So as i am pretty new to mantra rendering and shading i would like to know if it looks possible to dive in the mantra shader and replace the Physically-Based-Specular node by my own vex node ? From a performance pov does it looks possible to you , or does it looks stupid or awkwards to modify something that already exist ...  :)

I've see that SYmek has already give a VEX code for this

http://forums.odforce.net/topic/6763-cook-torrance-shader-code-help-pls/?hl=%2Bcook+%2Btorrance

Maybe somebody has already done this in the mantra shader ? ... it would be wonderful if he can share it with me :)

Thanks in advance for any advise or any help!

Cheers

E

Edited by sebkaine

Are you sure that bsdf specular phong () isn't some sort of micro-faced model? Because VEX's vector specular() is SESI's version of such (with some fixes).

Generally, albeit I might be completely wrong here as I've never seriously looked into physically plausible BRDFs (Mantra allows you to actually create one just recently), I think the problem is that not every old school phenomenological model is appropriate for PBR. First it needs to come with an importance sampling method and even though they provide a means to compute pdf/cdf, it might be impractical, expensive or they are not enough physically correct to justify those efforts. Here a hint for Cook-Torrence (page 18) which is also valid for Ward, which accidentally seems to be also widely adopted in PBR world.