AAA Production quality character animation in houdini?

Musetatron

I am new to houdini. I just play with it for 30 min and I think this software operation make much more sense compare to Maya (exept vertex pushing/pulling) . The GUI is clean and logical. Everything flow nicely that I consider using it as my main app.

The problem is I want to do realistic character animation. Can anyone some example of  ridiculously amazing character animation made entirely in houdini? Or is it just not efficient to do CA in houdini compare to Maya?

Sorry if this like app vs app thread. I just want to know if anyone doing CA in houdini for a living at all.

Character animation has absolutely nothing to do with software, but the artist...

Houdini has the potential to create some amazing rigs which animators could use, but I'm unaware of any major studio using it for animation, only a few small boutiques. But that's purely down to pipelines and animators being used to something and don't want to learn a new package, rather than Houdini not being good enough for it.

• Like 1

I am a beginner in 3D so I don't have much choice except to follow what other has done. Maya is production proven CA app. There is loads of tutorial and script on CA anound the web. But it's hell to work with if I don't have TD friends near me. I cried many time redoing all the work because of some stupid error(which I guess because I don't know maya well enough). It has too many pitfall to fall.

But in my situation of doing CA, guess I am stucked in the Mayan-labyrinth for a while until I master all the rigging technique from maya tutorials out there, then transfer those skill to houdini.

Edited by Musetatron

That's a fair call. Make sure to do some Computer Science on-line courses too; as all programs run on a compute, the more you understand that tool, the better the 3d artist you will be.