Camera i/o script help

dpotter

I'm new to Houdini and am having some difficulty figuring out how to parse an external file and bring said data into a node. Basically, I have an ASCII camera format that is pretty straight forward, however, it also contains note tracks and has flags that allow the parser to know what it is able to do. From what I've been able to se, it looks pretty easy to read in straight sets of data, however, things seem to work differently on more complex file types.

The other complication to the situation, is that I am quite new and don't really know the proper approach for doing such a task in Houdini. I am imagining a button that would open a file browser, which would then give me a pointer to the file. After parsing, I would then have the script generate a cam node and apply the animation data.

*Any* input would be greatly appreciated. Is there a script out there that does file i/o? Basically I just need a starting point to see how Houdini approaches this problem, and then all should be pretty straight forward.

Thanks.

Dagan

Hi there, and welcome to od[force].

Basically you're going to want to read in this data using a FileCHOP under the Motion&Audio context and export the data to any camera in your scene. You can override the position procedurally or export the export and create keyframed channels in your destination camera.

So is this a format that you're going to want to read often?

If so, then I'd look at writing a converter in any scripting language you like (like PERL, for instance) that can read your format and output rows of data. Now I'd look at editing the file under your Houdini installation called CHOPio (in the location $HFS/houdini/) and adding a line that tells Houdini what file extension would execute that script on the fly. Look at the clchan program for hints on how houdini will convert .bchn and such to ascii channel data, ripe to be read in by the FileCHOP.