HowZow

Heloo, i'm new to Houdini and the goal is to get guides from the masters in here into the world of Houdini awesomeness.

The concept is to get those two round spheres to swing from a higher angle and smash the text into smithereens, then, texture, light and render the project. At the moment i'm stuck at the modeling phase because i don't know how to model a procedural chain and attach it to the sphere so it becomes an asset so dynamics can be added to it. and i dont want to model it the old way, so now i need help on getting the chains done

production-logo.jpg

Thank you. i've learnt a lot from your project about the resample, sweep, skin, and merge nodes.

Using this knowledge, i connected the [torus and curve] nodes to the [sweep] node. However, it's not yet sufficiently procedural.

i am beginning to see how Houdini thinking is different and more advanced, there are many ways to do one thing

i still need answers to move forward. How does each chain connect to each other at a varying angle of 90 degrees in a locked loop.

loop 0.jpg

loop 1.jpg

Thanks, when i opened the file, i got some errors and the file didn't load properly, so i got more tutorials about the copy sop. and tried doing it on my own, but i still don't understand it very well. How did your node end with the copy sop, because after adding copy sop i still added edit operator to manually rotate the chains by 90 degrees. 

Also i'm moving to the next stage which is demolition, so i will try to do this on my own and post video previz later.

If i run into any problems, i will holla.

And if anyone has anything else to add please tell, because Houdini is a life devotion.

Plenty Thanks

0.jpg

1.jpg

Edited by HowZow
Added additional explanation

Yes i use H15, your H15 opened with no problems.

i see the power of this copy sop. i have created 2000 chains with it.

Houdini is multiple awesomeness. On Tuesday April 4, I will upload simulation video of the destruction with more questions.