How to control objects with particles?

Demin

hi, i'd like to know if there is any way to take various objects and apply particles to them, convert them to particles, like the chunks of a cracked ground. In other softwares you can do it using a script or comercial plugins. I want to put particles in the center or pivot of every object to control the pieces with a particle system. Maybe this is an easy task but I'm relatively new in houdini and i'm not into scripting so i want to know how i can do it in houdini only through nodes, if it is possible.

i've done a simple scene, a bunch of boxes from a grid, all the objects are grouped individually.

Many thanks for any help.

ground.hipnc

hi, i'd like to know if there is any way to take various objects and apply particles to them, convert them to particles, like the chunks of a cracked ground. In other softwares you can do it using a script or comercial plugins. I want to put particles in the center or pivot of every object to control the pieces with a particle system. Maybe this is an easy task but I'm relatively new in houdini and i'm not into scripting so i want to know how i can do it in houdini only through nodes, if it is possible.

Hm - sounds like Point Instancing to me. If so, Houdini docs covers it well.

If not, perhaps 'Points From Volume' node will get you part of the way (?)

Hm - sounds like Point Instancing to me. If so, Houdini docs covers it well.

If not, perhaps 'Points From Volume' node will get you part of the way (?)

What do you mean by Point Instancing?. I've tried to use the copy sop but it works with only one object. The idea is to use something like the voronoi fracture and assign one particle per object, at the center, and then control the pieces with a particle system, maybe with a wind force, for example.

How can I do this?