VDB Jitter continues...

Jebbel

Hi guys,

Be easy on me; Houdini noob here B) . Just started learning H14 two weeks ago and now working on FLIP fluids for a commercial. The footage is great! We shot with a Phantom camera at 1600 FPS and am now matching fluids that need to flow out of glasses (people are jumping in the air).
Actually managed to almost complete it but then came across jittering in the VDB meshing. It seems to be related to the influence scale and droplet scale (and ofc. all parameters attached). 

In the end I got way better results with a ParticleSurface node attached to a smooth node (Next time I will add a SOP peak as well :). Anywho... It seems I get way less jitter, more detail and more control with this type of meshing so I'm trying to figure out where the strength of VDB lies (and how it works). And my second question is: Can anyone explain how CFL condition works in relation to building a realistic fluid sim.

Thanks guys!

Jeffrey.

Edited by Jebbel

I never got VDB jitter issue.

If you are working on large scale where speed does matter VDB is far ahead from standard particle fluid surfacer.

If you are on low scale like glass of water, chocolate, honey etc..... standard meshing is better option. It gives you better mesh compare to VDB. 

Thank you Pradeeb,

So what I'm getting from your explanation is that VDB meshing needs a lot of particles to be accurate? I will definitely test that out :). For now... and for this scene the standard surfacer seems to the way to go.