Mantra crash with exit code: 255 in H14

yamanash

Hey guys, I just joined to ask this question... I haven't been able to find too much on it.  As the title says, I am getting consistent crashes with mantra in houdini 14 whilst attempting to render a single frame of a decently detailed smoke volume.  Does anyone know what this error means exactly and/or how to go about fixing it?  I am quite new to Houdini so it is probably caused by something I am doing wrong :)

Thanks so much!

-Kyle

post-14422-0-66829700-1441159562_thumb.p

Hey man! Thanks for the swift reply! :) I too noticed this. I am the admin, I have set all the relevant permissions for the drive, and H 14 is also running as admin when this happens (Windows 10).  It says it couldn't create the dir but the image still renders part way on most attempts, it never gets past like 20%ish though as the majority of the image is empty still on crash.  Can you think of any reson why it would be saying that about not being able to create the dir though/if this could still be causing the error?

EDIT: Speak of the devil, I left for a while to do something else, came back and did a test render with no lighting in the scene and it managed to spit out a complete (although boring) image...That is the first time that has ever happened in this scene. I just did a second render of it to be sure and it sucessfuly competed it. Upon adding an enviro light it crashed again however...

Edited by yamanash

There's something up with the setup - the density is missing for Mantra - turn your statistics Verbose level up to 1, start stop a render and MMB on the Mantra node - this will tell you that it cant find density.

Can you test with a new file and using just the shelf tools.