Coloring Points With Vex

PlatinumFishy

SO, I am currently trying to make mini planets with procedurally generated  biomes (Probably too ambitious since I'm still new at Houdini, especially with vex but oh well). I fist scattered a few points around a sphere then assigned those to a group. After merging the new group of points (radial) with the original sphere I wanted to make it so that points within a certain radius of the scattered dots would be colored red. I got everything in a VEX statement but I cant seem to figure out how to color the points nearby, only the point the wrangle is working on.

For those who do not want to open a file.

int check = inpointgroup(0, "radial" , @ptnum);

if (check==1)
   {
   int near[] =  nearpoints(0,  @P, 5);

foreach( int i; near)

@Cd = {1,0,0};
    }

Biome.hipnc

Edited by PlatinumFishy

You find the near points, and that's ok, but then you just color red the @ptnum and not the points the nearpoints function has returned.

I guess it should be something like this:

int check = inpointgroup(0, "radial" , @ptnum);
vector red = set(1,0,0);

if (check==1)
   {
   int near[] =  nearpoints(0,  @P, 0.1,5);

foreach( int i; near)

setpointattrib(0, "Cd", i,red);

}

Note that I added an additonal parameter to the nearpoints function to indicate the maximum distance (0.1) (edit: now I realise this parameter it's not necessary, but anyway I think it's better to hace more control. Whatever floats your boat):

int [] nearpoints(string geometry, vector pt, float maxdist, int maxpts)

Edited by mine

8 minutes ago, mine said:

foreach( int i; near)

setpointattrib(0, "Cd", i,red);

Thank you! that did the trick. While I was waiting I was trying to input all the points in the "near" array into a group and /then/ color it.

I do have one question though, isn't "i" just a place holder for the " near" array? Meaning not the actual point number? 

Glad to help.