Silly question about the Group and Duplicate OPs

I am new at Houdini but I am betting once you read my nifty and straightforward description you'll be able to point me in the right direction.

Essentially I have created a tower of duplicated NURBS Circles. That works fine. What I want to do now though is to have this other geometry SOP, let's pretend its a sphere, and I want to duplicate that Sphere and have it driven by the duplication of the circles. I can easily link the $CN variable so that when I increase the duplication of the Circles the Spheres duplicate and transform in Y along with it.

However, how can I create an expression or relationship so that if I individually do an edit on an arbitrary NURBS Circle in the group the same numbered sphere will translate with it? Is there a way to express a parenting of the Circle over the Spheres?

Example, I do an edit and then select the 5th duplicated NURBS Circle and translate it in X. I want the 5th duplicated Sphere to translate with it.

Hope this makes sense :)

Not so straightforward is this question is. I would rather you translate with attributes but first for a hacky solution.

You will have to calculate your own local bounding box if you want your approach to stay the same. The distance() function fits nicely. I assume you have two separate chains side by side, one with default poly circles (10 points) and whatever spheres. Append a primitive SOP to the spheres and try these expressions in Scale X Y Z:

2*distance(point("../add1",0+$PR*10,"P",0),0,0,point("../add1",5+$PR*10,"P",0),0,0)
(ch(sx)+ch(sz))/2
2*distance(0,0,point("../add1",2+$PR*10,"P",2),0,0,point("../add1",7+$PR*10,"P",2))