Fracturing building from top to bottom

eirik.m

Hello friends!

I am after a certain fracture effect. I have this skyscraper/tall building and I want it to fracture from top to bottom. Like a beam were to hit the top and the entire building would explode from top and down.

You can see an example in the two videos at the top here:

Example

How can i do this effect in houdini. I have a plan on how to approach this, but I'm fairly new to Houdini, so it would be cool to see how others would approach this effect :)

Thank you very much :)

Well, if we are just brainstorming there are two ways I would usually approach this.

One way would be to use a magnet force and metaballs to create that explosion-like motion.

Another way, maybe more Houdini-like, would be to transfer the normals from a moving sphere as the velocity of your building pieces and use that velocity as the initial one for your pieces.

That as long as the force goes. Regarding the progressive fracturing, there are several examples around this forums already...you should check those if you have any problems.

Edited by Netvudu

One way would be to use a magnet force and metaballs to create that explosion-like motion.

Another way, maybe more Houdini-like, would be to transfer the normals from a moving sphere as the velocity of your building pieces and use that velocity as the initial one for your pieces.

Hi Javier,

So, what about gravity force? if we have a fractured object, and we have gravity in dops, it affects the whole object, not just those that are exploded by magnet force,and it will start falling down from the first frame! right?

Hi Javier,

So, what about gravity force? if we have a fractured object, and we have gravity in dops, it affects the whole object, not just those that are exploded by magnet force,and it will start falling down from the first frame! right?