Problem with Boolean in Houdini

Hi guys,

I'm trying to get some clean boolean shatter, but i fail to get the result i want.

Basicaly what i want is :

- i have obj A to shatter which is full Quad.

- i have obj B which is my shatter plane also full Quad.

- i want to shatter obj A with obj B with a quad output and without modification of my input mesh

For the moment the only node i find to achieve some boolean in houdini is the cookie node but it doesn't give me what i expect i fall in the 2 following situation :

- my mesh is triangulated in a non predictable way by houdini

- my mesh is not triangulated but i have holes and degenerated face

i have done a test scene to show you the problem.

So i would like to know if you guys have any idea to solve this:

- is there a better way to use the cookie node

- is there an other way than the cookie node to do clean booleans

- does i need to write all by myself to get the result i want ? (i'm a total houdini noob so hope there is an alternative ...) :)

Here is an image of the result i'm trying to achieve

frag_detal.jpg

Thanks for your lights Guys !

Cheers

boolean_problem.hip

Edited by sebkaine

Good question! I've pretty much always had this problem with the Cookie SOP; it's very hard to use it effectively if you're trying to preserve topology.

The problem is that your Mountain SOP is introducing non-planar quads, which the Cookie SOP is just really bad at handling - hence the Pre-Convex option, which triangulates those quads.

I don't really have a solution here. It's frustrating that the SOP triangulates all the offending quads, rather than merely those that intersect - especially in situations when the last thing you want is to introduce extraneous edges.

Edited by Darric

Incidentally, the only improvement I can offer you is to implement your own pre-divide that's localized to the intersection region. It's far from perfect, but I've done this in the past with a AttribTransfer with some success.