How to work on the output of the pieces of a dynamic fracture?

Flanker15

I'm very new to the RBD side of houdini and I'm currently trying to complete an experiment to help learn more about it.

I want to run a geometry through a "voronoi fracture configure" to create a dynamic fracture (this i can do fine) then take the resulting simobjects and run them through other DOPs depending on their individual attributes. 

For example I thought a good test to start with would be to dynamic fracture a geometry with a single fracture pass; then, iterate over the pieces and dynamic fracture only the pieces that are above a certain size and with different parameter settings on the voronoi fracture configure dop.

I feel like it should be easy as the DOP puts out simobject pieces with nice numbered names but I haven't figured it out.

I can do what I want with repeated random prefracturing outside the dop network easily but that loses the dynamic element.

Knowing this will definitely help with working with any sim output in future too.

• 9 months later...

I'm getting stuck with similar problem. In my case I don't pretend to make additional DOPs but I need to deal with the "new pieces" in SOPs. I would like to unwrap the inside uv of the generated packed geo right after its creation.

My first fail approch was trying to unwrap the inside group after the DOP I/O but with this I get UV updated every single frame, I would need to just unwrap once each new generated piece.

inside_uv_unwrap_wrong.gif.6d2a66e135921e787613983f1aad4637.gif

There's a second problem, if I use "recursive" fracture by increasing the Maximum Fractures under the configure fractrue, I miss unwrapping the secondary ones since the old "inside part" becomes an "outside one".

inside_uv_unwrap_recursive_wrong.gif.69b6f413dafc6d3a08363c95237d0702.gif